Union Springs High School Welcomes 16 Students to NHS

Academic success, strong character traits, and excellent citizenship were celebrated during the Union Springs High School National Honor Society Induction Ceremony.

In total, 16 students were inducted into the prestigious organization, which was established to recognize outstanding high school students and their efforts both in and out of the classroom.

The ceremony was started by Union Springs High School Principal Jason Dentel welcoming the new inductees into the NHS. Each inductee met the criteria for membership, which include showcasing attributes of the four pillars of NHS – scholarship, leadership, service, and character.

Board of Education Vice President Daniel Testa served as guest speaker for the ceremony, and noted that those four pillars will serve as keys to success moving forward. Testa, a class of 1992 alum, discussed his educational and career path following high school and said that developing and maintaining strong scholarship, leadership, service and character qualities helped him throughout his journey.

“If you’re meeting the criteria for these four pillars, then you’re well on your way,” Testa said.

NHS Chapter President Isabel Gilmore then provided a brief history of the National Honor Society, followed by the lighting of four candles – one for each of the four pillars. Inductees were then called up one at a time to be presented with certificates and pins.

The inductees were then asked to recite the National Honor Society Pledge, which capped their official membership into the organization.

The following students were inducted to NHS: Kurt Akins; Alexandra Batruch; Kate Besner; Carter Botindari; Catherine Ciampi; Ainsley Francis-Biter; Aaron Johnson; Abigail Kozub; Ryan Luczyski; Makenna Pantoliano; Shane Perkins Jr.; Devin Platt; Caroline Smead; Paige Smith; Jack Walters; Chloe Wilde